Who needs win32console?

The developer of win32console got in touch with me, clarifying the reason why it is now deprecated.

Usage of win32console against ruby 2.0 is not recommended.

Ruby 2.0 already includes ANSI coloring builtin.

There’s no need for win32console to be used now, so if you’re Ruby version is greater than 1.9, the following code can be removed from the beginning of Jstdutil’s redgreen.rb script:

if RUBY_PLATFORM =~ /mswin/i || RUBY_PLATFORM =~ /mingw/i || RUBY_PLATFORM =~ /bccwin/i || RUBY_PLATFORM =~ /wince/i
 begin
   require 'Win32/Console/ANSI'
 rescue LoadError
   raise 'You must gem install win32console to use color on Windows'
 end
end

I can now uninstall win32console from the command prompt:

>gem uninstall win32console

and the problems that were being experienced with that are now nicely resolved.

Jasmine

Later that day I was also investigating how to do test-driven development on the iPad, and found good results from a jsfiddle project called: Template for Testing with Jasmine. There’s also a strong possibility of developing code straight from the page itself using a nice new app called Kodiak JavaScript, but I’ll have to investigate that later on.

Revenge of the Pink Panther

Tonight I was hosting Revenge of the Pink Panther (1978) and since I came across some balloon-animal balloons at a local store, I figured that it’d be a good time to learn how to make a balloon animal of the Pink Panther. Making the balloon animal was the easy part – it’s a real challenge just to blow those balloons up. But with some good advice about how to blow up animal balloons (video) we were off and racing with some good help from let’s sculpt a Pink Panther (video).

Unfortunately though, I didn’t have the DVD of the movie with me, and as the idea of it came from someone else who was attending, I thought that they would also be bringing it for us to watch. It was my mistake too though, for I should have followed up on an earlier idea to clarify that side of things. So while urgent plans to obtain it from Alice in Videoland occurred, entertainment of the others occurred thanks to more of the animal balloons that were here.

It was a strange enjoyment with the movie itself. I remember really enjoying it when I was younger, but nowadays the casual racism of his sidekick, and the styles of the time, strongly indicate that we do seem now to be living in a different kind of society now. The PC nature of things today means that such things just wouldn’t be allowed in a movie of its same calibre of today. But overall though, it was still highly enjoyable.

I couldn’t help but to think though that Robert Webber, who played the antagonist Philippe Douvier, could easily be easily mistaken for being an earlier relation of Bryan Cranston.

MV5BMTM2MTA3NzYxNl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTM0OTUwOA@@._V1._SY314_CR18,0,214,314_ BC1

