Blowing up

This morning I worked out how to use my diaphragm appropriately to blow up animal balloons with one breath, and after feeling light-headed decided to find out how working with balloons impacts health – oh boy, there are a lot of potential issues. I think that I’ll be happy to not mouth-blow them up now.

Conflict

Due to the boardgaming events not being on the Meetup website anymore, a recent event didn’t make it on to my calendar so there was a conflict between that and a movie with the movie group that I was going to watch this afternoon. Fortunately a second group was going to see the same movie this evening, so all it meant was getting in touch with the movie theatre and make arrangements to refund the ticket for a later on. This I thought would be easy to arrange.

I’m due at Sams at 1:30, and by 1pm I’m still trying to contact the theatre to change the tickets. Can I get through to the manager? No chance in hell. Should I just cancel things at Sams? After much to’ing and fro’ing I decided to postpone the movie group event in the afternoon and catch an evening one instead.

I realise that if I keep trying for much longer then alternate plans to exchange tickets in person won’t be able to be achieved, so it’s a dash to The Palms first before heading on over to the University of Canterbury. I manage to get to The Palms by 1:30 and use their wifi to update the facebook boardgames group about being on the way, before racing up to the theatre to change tickets.

There’s a line. There’s always a line – and I doubt that it would be appreciated if I barge up to the front about a ticket issue, no matter how late for other things I may be. I don’t want to be “that guy” who is talked about on the Not Alway Right website.

While waiting I try to figure out the best way to get from there to Riccarton. Would it be Bealey through to Fendalton? There’s quite a few lights that way. Or Warrington through to Innes and Idris? That’s a longer route and I’m not sure if I’ll be tempted to try a shortcut and lose time on the way. So Bealey it is, and instead of Fendalton I decide to take Kilmarnock due to Siska Place being on the southern side of the University.

Eventually the line is breached and the movie tickets are successfully exchanged, before I depart in a puff of smoke for Bealey Ave and environs beyond. I manage to catch every single red light on the way there. To taunt me, I am sometimes waiting at the same red light twice-over. Once I even have 10 vehicles ahead of me waiting at lights, and when we go the car ahead dangerously takes the orange as it turns to red. Do I tail-gate him through too? Hell no, because though I am at the point of being desperately late, I am not going to allow that to turn me in to a dangerous driver.

With a mantra of “Trying not to die” rattling through my skull and not a single green light being seen without having to wait for them, I eventually arrive at Sams a half hour late, and ready myself to regale them with the above events, by way of explaining why I’m late – only to find that they haven’t even started yet because others have taken their time to get there too. That’s when enlightenment occurred, as I realised that if I’m late, then so be it, I’m late, and no amount of racing would make me “not late”. If I had become even more emotionally upset about being late on my trip over, as I was severely tempted to, that wouldn’t had helped my situation, and would also have been for naught due to what wasn’t known at the time either.

Board games at Sams

We start things off with an exploration game I haven’t come across before called Isla Dorada. We are 1930’s explorers whose zeppelin has crash-landed explorers on a mysterious island that contains several old and powerful civilizations with treasures to be had. We all have to stick together as one, but have different plans of what we need to do, due to cards that we are each holding.

Negotiations have to occur about which way we go at any point, with bidding occurring on the next direction to take, and being out-bid and out-bidding the other explorers becomes the core mechanism of the game. Points are gained for reaching certain locations based on the cards in your hand, so quite the conflict can occur when competing players get near to where they each want to go, as they try to influence the direction of things.

While it was an interesting an beautiful game to play, it seems to have the same problem that Monopoly has in that it creates conflict between the players, so time is desired between plays.

The Resistance: Avalon was next, set in the time of Merlin with the forces of good and evil battling over different quests, where a couple of players are evil and are trying to actively thwart the success of those quests. It’s an improvement over the original Resistance game, because the evil players if they don’t end up succeeding, can still attempt to win by trying to determine which of the other players was Merlin, who knew from the start who they were.

Inkognito was the best game of the day. It’s the streets and waterways of Venice, and you move pawns through the streets where one of them you, attempting to not have yourself recognised and to in turn use a cluedo-based system to figure out who of the other players is your secret partner so that you both can achieve a secret mission to win the game. This is an incredibly satisfying 3- or 4-player game, that I find is being remade later on this year, which is something for which I will be highly interested in obtaining a copy of.

Pacific Rim

Pacific Rim is the most entertaining move that I’ve seen for some while. It is unashamedly in the spirit of Transformers, but with Guillermo Del Toro at the helm it easily succeeds where others might fail. The scientist duo of a thin-man englishman along with Charlie Day channeling a Rick Moranis character from the Ghostbusters, just helps to cap it all off nicely. This is a movie that seems to have quite a spiritual background to it, and is one that I’ll definitely be getting the DVD of for further enjoyment of it too.

