KenKen

Due to not being at the Linwood Community Art Centre yesterday, I feel that it’s right if I head along today instead. Nicky spots a KenKen puzzle book that I’ve bought along, and enjoys them so much that she wants me to keep an eye out for other ones. KenKen (also called MathDoku) is a smaller version of Sudoku, where groups of cells called cages must combine to meet the required mathematical rule, such as add up to a certain number, or have one divisible by a certain amount.

DVDs

Yesterday I received a phone call from Penny Lane Records, about them having some DVD’s that they’ve put aside for me. I was there not 10 minutes ago, and it had been a while since my last visit so that’s quite some timing.

Going back this morning I find that they have Fargo and The Mexican waiting there for me, which are two well-received additions to my collection.

fargo the mexican

Now You See Me

The Now You See Me movie was an enjoyable romp, which does fall apart when looked at too closely but like with all magic, that comes with the territory. It’s about four street-wise magicians who tend to be hustlers, played by Woody Harrelson, Jesse Eisenberg, Isla Fisher, and Dave Franco, who are brought together by an unknown benefactor to perform 3 big stage shows as cover for heists – the first time a bank, the second time a financier, and the third time a maker of safes. Morgan Freeman runs a magic debunking tv show and films what they’re up to, and the magicians are tailed by an FBI agent played by Mark Ruffalo who is always a few steps behind them, and tries to team up with the debunker.

Without spoiling the rest of the movie though, it’s played out in a similar style as with the Ocean’s 11 movies. It’s fun, fast paced, and easy to watch, and prompts some interesting discussions afterwards. Even though better movies about magic have been made such as The Prestige, Now You See Me is enjoyable popcorn action viewing, and I found myself enjoying it more than I expected.

