Garden shed

Today involved moving the garden shed at my parents place over to the other side of the property, all the way across the lawn area, so that it could attempt to be saved when their place is demolished and rebuilt.

It was held down quite well, but after using a cutting grinder to work through the wire stays holding it to the ground, the judicious use of a pry-bar allowed us to get it moving. Sadly though, the back of the office didn’t survive, with a few ton of long bricks falling from the entire back side, so there’s going to be a few rapid last days of packing as they get the office shelves squared away before much in the way of bad weather hits.

The best moment of inspiration during the move was in using some spare planks of melamine on which to slide the shed. It was several hundred kilos, so with the assistance of planks fore and aft, it still hard work to get it all the way to the end, but far easier thanks to leverage than it otherwise would have been. What was it that Archimedes said? Give me a lever long enough and a fulcrum on which to place it, and I shall move the world.

Growing in

After waking up the other night with visions of using pliers to help see to a big toe ingrown toenail situation, the doctor today gave me a cream to put on there that he says should help. It’s supposed to be good for pain and dealing with possible infection, but I don’t want a cream to help with the pain – I want the underlying cause of the problem to be dealt with instead. I can’t start using it yet either because I should run anything medical by the clinical trial people in case of a conflict, not that I foresee anything troubling with a topical cream, but it’s best to be safe than sorry. So perhaps tomorrow I’ll be able to make a start on treating things. It’s a bugger though that I’ve also been to keep off my feet as much as I can for the next few weeks. I had a skiing trip lined up for this weekend – but hopefully I’ll still be up to heading along and participating in spirit at the very least.

