A morning emergency results in a change of plans, multiple backup schemes result in a large benefit, and cycle repairs are manually attempted before a wiser course of action is taken.

Morning emergency

This morning while keeping the Linwood community centre open for the day, I receive a call about how some company accounts are no longer working due to a database corruption, which raises a certain conflict for I have the food co-op money waiting to be banked this afternoon.

I tell them that I’ll call them back after I’ve made some arrangements.

  • Do I just close up immediately and throw everybody out?
  • Do I try to fix the database trouble remotely?
  • Do I wait until the funds have been collected before closing?
  • Do I head in to fix the trouble at the end of the day?

I get in touch with Phil about obtaining remote access to the business, and realise that even if I do restore them from a backup that way, I’m not going to learn anything about what happened or why.

So I get back in touch with the company and let them know that ‘ll be there in about an hour at lunchtime, which gives me time to make arrangements with the food co-op money and get everything squared away.

Benefit of multiple backups

On site where the database trouble is I find that the backup on the computer has been overwritten, but fortunately we have multiple sources. One automatically goes to a USB stick, one gets emailed offsite, one get taken away by the owner separately, and an automatic one gets made at midnight on to an external drive.

The external drive hasn’t been working for the past 10 days, which has changes the USB drive letters so the USB sticks that are plugged in no longer has the backup made to them. So in lieu of contacting the business owner directly, the emailed version is able to be used to restore things.

Things are finished off by making sure that the USB sticks can properly receive the backup, and plans are put in place to get a working USB drive.

Cycle repairs

Because the community centre is now closed up for the day, I can go ahead with earlier plans to get a broken spoke on the cycle repaired. I did have some spare spokes and considered doing a manual replacement, but with the rear gears getting in the way it would mean attempting to dismantle the hub assembly without appropriate tools, so $25 for someone to do a proper job of things is a fair exchange.

While the repairs are happening I head off shopping for the replacement USB┬ádrive, for a satisfying end to the day. I’m now all ready to head back on Monday to fix the drive, and have some plans in mind to help prevent further recurrence of the issue.

