I find Ender’s Game to be more enjoyable than I thought it would be, and have a few issues transporting my cycle home from the community centre.

Ender’s Game

Ender’s Game (2013) is about a gifted boy who is centrally involved with winning a war against aliens, based on the Orson Scott Card novel. I haven’t read the novel yet, but when dealing with book to movie adaptions the usual conditions of adaption decay apply (warning: tvtropes link), in that movies are a very different medium from books and are made for different reasons, so differences and changes are bound to form a part off the territory.

Ender Wiggin (Asa Butterfield) is a young and brilliant strategist who we follow from initial training through to his graduation in a war against an alien empire.

Ender faces with issues of bullying and deals with it in effective ways, to the point where there is an interest from command to use similar techniques to win the war so decisively that it will end all future wars, which becomes something of a theme throughout.

It was interesting too how they said that they need a Julius Caesar or a Napoleon, and when Ender is promoted to the Salamander team their leader has a comically short height (hobbit-like) with the requisite Napoleon complex.

As with many good stories that follow the three act structure (warning: tvtropes link again), a refreshing change of pace came to the film with the involvement of  Ben Kingsley as Mazer Rackham, who ended the first alien attack many years earlier.

Towards the end when they realise that a hive-mind type of behaviour is used by the enemy, this would have also been an excellent opportunity for Ender who is controlling everything to realise that his own military functioned like a hive-mind too with such potential weaknesses, but sadly no more was broached on that topic.

Throughout the movie, frisson of tension is set up throughout dealing with issues of genocide that reminds you of how the American Industrial Complex tends to want to deal with things. Only after the so-called enemy is completely destroyed does some form of resolution occur, where things flipped around with a realisation and regret on Ender’s part.

Overall though it was highly enjoyable and has me wanting to read the book now, in order to gain a deeper enjoyment of the material.

Getting my cycle home

And the end of the evening it was time to get my cycle home from the community centre, where it has been languishing for the whole week. At the end if the movie I headed back to the community centre on the scooter, to get the cycle back home. This would mean riding both at the same time, which is a tricky task so I would have to be careful about things.

On the way back home down Gloucester Street, a policeman had someone pulled over and I wasn’t keen on traveling past them while I was scootering my cycle back home, as it wasn’t the safest form off transport, so I pulled over before I came to them, locked things up, and then wandered around in a hopefully non-suspicious manner until the traffic stop was resolved and he had headed off on his way.

One of the important lessons I found from this, other than respecting authority, is that I could pull up on the front of the cycle handlebars to stabilise things if things got too wobbly, or that I could press down hard on the cycle to ride and control the cycle while using the scooter to just keep me in approximate proximity to the bike. There was no in between that could result in success.

Getting things home without further incident made for a pleasing end to the day.

