This morning it was over to Te Whare Roimata so I can look after massage events there, things there, and some movies are tried and cast away, in favour of more interesting fare.

Te Whare Roimata and massage

This morning at Te Whare Roimata I was looking after the place while some free massages occur there, and learned that the origin of the name Te Whare Roimata means “The House of Tears”, which speaks to the community support nature of the place.

I had a massage session lined up for myself there too, and found that it was similar to my previous experiences with reiki. I was complimented on having a good breathing technique too, which was nice to hear but puzzling as I’ve had several decades to practice due to breathing being somewhat mandatory for survival.

It seems to me that practitioners of reiki are self-deluded, because other than a placebo effect there is no physical benefit to be gained from the process. Perhaps though there are other benefits that people obtain from it, such as having someone with which to talk over their problems.

As a result, I don’t think that I’ll be participating in any reiki-like events anymore.

Movies

At a recent event a video store owner had a stack of DVD’s from when combining stock from an earthquake damaged location. I got there late but there were still some decent ones such as Blade III and The Forbidden Kingdom.

There were also a few unknowns that I thought to give a try too but sadly though, they had pretty bad IMDB scores and when I tried to watch them tonight I found that they were so bad that I didn’t want to waste my time on them.

Children of the Corn 666

Children of the Corn 666: Isaac’s Return (1999) is a straight to video release and looks to be a made for tv version. While it made references to earlier productions and is about a girl who returns to find out what happened to the original children, I had to stop watching it after the hospital sessions occurred as the production quality was so bad, that I was falling asleep from a lack of engagement.

The League of Gentlemen’s Apocalypse

Moving on to The League of Gentlemen’s Apocalypse (2005), a spinoff from the excellent League of Gentlemen tv series. Apocalypse is where the tv show writers are approached my their own creations and forced to carry on writing more scripts to prevent the end of the world, but I think that I’ll be able to enjoy this one more after the tv series has been seen. As a result, this one is being put on hold until later.

Fierce People

So as a result, I ended up enjoying Fierce People (2005) instead, which is a coming of age movie for Finn (Anton Yelchin). His father is an anthropologist that has been studying a remote tribe called the Isaignani, and his mother Liz (Diane Lane) is a junkie. This results in him not being able to join his father to study the Isaignani too, so his mother calls in a favour with Ogdon C. Osbourne (Donald Sutherland) the 9th richest person in America that she knows through being a massage therapist, whereupon they go and spend the summer with his family on 10 square miles of his own property.

Finn proceeds to study them using comparisons with the Isaignani, which gives us an interesting insight in to our own society too. Civilised people are just as fierce as uncivilized tribes, it’s just that we’ve learned to disguise it behind other forms of behaviour.

The first half of the movie moves as a nice and enjoyable pace and the relationship between Finn and Ogden’s grand-daughter Maya (Kristen Stewart) proceeds nicely, but later on a separate rape drama results in a bitch in sheep’s clothing situation that makes for a much darker second half to the movie.

The way that Liz moves from being a junkie to high-society is a bit jarring at times, and the Hawaiian references to Jews were a bit strange, but overall there’s plenty to enjoy here and I’m left with some interesting things to ponder about our society as a whole.

