Crazy driver on the road, a tussle for seating arrangements in the theatre, and enjoying The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug but not without a few issues.

Mad driver

Heading off to The Hobbit tonight, I came across the craziest driver. He and I were heading down Moorhouse ave towards the park. When I passed him and pulled up ahead of him at the lights, he started screaming incoherently, spun a u-turn back to the petrol station entrance and foot down, tore off out the other side. What that was about I do not know. Was it the that he didn’t like a scooter showing him up? Did he have mental problems? Was it the colour of my jib? Possibly all three, but it was certainly a sight to behold.

Seating arrangements

When I got to the theatre and ordered my ticket, I found on entering the theatre that my seat had already been taken by some silly girls. Asking them to move they showed me that their tickets showed the same seat numbers. Checking further they were in the right theatre, but theirs were for Sunday. Apparently their father had ordered the tickets for the wrong day – so after some polite handling of the matter, they left and should be back tomorrow to properly enjoy things then. When they left, a few other patrons came back to reclaim their seats. The girls had done a convincing job of making them think that they were in the wrong. Silly girls – I had a previous experience with a Star Wars first viewing to fall back, on where a similar situation occurred. Patience and understanding, followed up if need by beating on them with an usher is the key to successfully resolving such situations.

The Hobbit – The Desolation of Smaug

It was able to enjoy the movie, but not before wading through a long string of Xbox ads all tied together by someone surfing through the Xbox interface exclaiming about each tile and showing yet another long Xbox ad. By the end of about 5 Xbox ads in a row I was about ready to hang myself, and then it was time for the movie. The Hobbit – The Desolation of Smaug (2013) has the difficult place in a trilogy because being the middle of the story, it has no start of end to the main plot, so it has to instead deftly connect back to the first and on to the last – not necessarily resolving things but still maintaining pace.

Instead of giving a blow-by-blow rundown of events in the movie which you can get from the One Wiki, the movie follows two main narratives.

The main story of the movie follows the dwarves as they travel through Mirkwood to be captured by the elves, their escape to be smuggled in to Lake-town, and from there to the mountain to face Smaug. The second lesser story follows Gandalf as he seeks to reveal what is going on at Dol Guldur, where he faces the necromancer and we gain some interesting insight about the Eye of Sauron.

My suspension of disbelief was dealt a few shattering blows at times though:

  • during the barrel ride escape from the elves of Mirkwood too many unbelievable events occurred
  • in Lake-town when the dwarves are captured for stealing weapons and then proceed to appeal to greed for their release
  • the manner in which the dwarves get the best of Smaug, relies on far too many coincidences

Those parts weren’t convincing enough, and some of the action scenes had too much fake-action where characters were artificially animated through difficult scenes or action pieces.

Apart from a few issues like that though, the movie was still highly enjoyable. I liked the characterisation of the Bard the smuggler, who’s characterisation seemed to be drawn from Inigo Montoya (you killed my father, prepare to die), and Smaug makes for a delightfully enjoyable villain.

The high enjoyment of the movie still doesn’t make me forget though how much I detest the Xbox adverts. Stay outside of the theatre until those adverts have stopped playing – you’ll thank me later.

You'll thank me later

