Sceptics meet in the pub for a pub quiz, proofreading takes a downward turn, and benefits are found with forcing moves in Go.

Sceptics in the Pub

At the Sceptics in the Pub meeting tonight at the Pegasus Arms I found to my surprise that Donald from the Canterbury Men’s Centre was attending there for first time. During the pub quiz he brought out pamphlets and material relating to the place, and unfortunately some of us started reading the material. I say unfortunately, because when reading through The Blokes Book Reggie beside me spotted a spelling mistake of “Elelphant” near the back of the book, which started the tide.

Proofreading

From there it was all on in jest, where Donald was asked about who proofread the book, and Reggie and I went through each page in seriousness one-upping each other about problems and issues that were found, such as inconsistent use of justification, poor use of apostrophes, list formatting problems, and even on the front cover there are kerning issues.

Poor Donald – we find out that a print run of 70,000 has been done on them, and I couldn’t help but wonder if Donald was wondering what he’d opened himself up to here. partly it was a response to having such advertising material brought forward to us, but more I think it was good-natured ribbing that occurs as a part of a bonding experience – at least I hope that that’s the way thing were taken.

Pub quiz

The quiz part of things itself wasn’t the usual believe it or not pub quiz, but was a homemade version instead that used exactly the same type of format – 8 rounds of 10 questions, a drinks break, and a cryptic clue at the end of each round that gives you a bonus for getting the answer.

I didn’t stick around the entire quiz, and instead headed off before the last round to the Go club. The next time I’m involved with such a quiz I’ll have to go instead at the drinks break, because otherwise too much of the rest of the evening gets lost.

Go club

I only got to enjoy one game tonight, but it was with peter so we were fairly evenly matched. I gave him two stones handicap and that against my beer made for a fairly even match. I made some silly mistakes at the start because I wasn’t counting liberties as well as I should.

Later on though I managed to address the balance by throwing in to a corner group of his, which was able to be used as a potential threat, allowing me to use it to achieve some forcing moves to benefit me elsewhere nearby. That and an empty city ploy were enjoyable to employ.

The game ended up being his by just 3 points, which is a good balance to arrive at. Games should result in scores where players are within about 10 points of each other. When scores consistently exceed that to one side or the other than a reconsideration of how much to compensate with the handicap, needs to occur.

