Arrangements for a replacement iPad are made, and a very strange movie featuring Phillip Seymour Hoffman is seen, called Synecdoche: New York.

Replacement iPad

This morning I headed out early to Noel Leemings about the accellerometer issue with my iPad. When I got there I caught the attention of a sales person and told them that I want a replacement for my iPad because, and they’ll love this reason – the screen doesn’t want to rotate. After explaining further that another related problem is that “Undo Typing” keeps popping up whenever I’m typing something because it mistakenly thinks I’ve shaken it. This prompted me to dig deeper and found on a JavaScript Accelerometer Test page to find out what was up, and learn that vertical accelerometer was fixed in the downwards direction. The test ball just bounced on down to the bottom and stayed there, fixed to the edge of the pad.

Staff

The staff member I spoke with went to discuss things over with a team member, and after a while came back to say that the pad would be away for a few weeks as it made its way off to Apple for diagnosis, and that I would be without it for the interim. That is purely a business decision because in some cases the replacement is denied due to reasons of mistreatment. This wasn’t suitable to me as I have some business needs relating to the pad, so I will be wanting instead either a replacement, or compensation for my loss of business.

Manager

Because this was a situation beyond the capability of the staff person to resolve, I was asked to wait until their manager was available so that we could discuss things further. While waiting I browsed around and played with some of their other tablets, and accidentally set the alarms off when pressing a corner arrow resulted in me nudging a security device attached to the screen.

Despite such entertainments when waiting, I was eventually allowed to speak with the manager. We sat down to discuss the issue and with talk of compensation for my loss of business hanging in the air due to the length of time for a replacement, we came to a somewhat suitable arrangement where I could have a temporary replacement while waiting for the pad to be seen to.

Replacement

He headed out the back and returned with a smaller capacity one, which while annoying would still be able to be used with my backup. On my return home I find that the replacement isn’t able to be used, because Find My iPad was enabled on there, and as a result of that the owner has to either provide permission for the pad to be used, or remove it from his iTunes account.

Returning back to Noel Leemings I advise the manager about this problem with the replacement, and the air suddenly changes for the better. It has become a “customer service” problem, because those spares are supposed to have been checked earlier before they’re allowed to be used. As a result of this, out comes a shrink-wrapped replacement for my original problem, the new pad is placed in my cover and I head off as a happy customer.

Synecdoche: New York

Synecdoche: New York  is a very strange and engrossing movie. Synecdoche is a term about how something is referred to by just a part of it, such as “wheels” to mean a car.

This movie is so dense that I don’t think it can be taken in with just one sitting. On the surface it ‘s about Caden Cotard (Phillip Seymour Hoffman), a theatre director who directs a stage play called The Travelling Salesman with a twist, where the characters are young instead of being old. Through this he receives a MacArthur grant so that he can produce a play on anything he likes, and he creates a life-size replica of New York in what looks to be a giant airship hangar, with actors playing him and everybody that he interacts with in his life.

The strange things is though, that we get the impression that he may already be dead, what with some illnesses that he suffered earlier on, and his general demeanour. Caden’s surname cotard refers to the cotard delusion, where a person believes that they are already dead. Caden is obsessed with death and decay, which in some way is why he’s trying to create a life-size stage play that will live beyond him.

Beyond the surface of this movie though, it’s commenting that we all create our own personal play about ourselves and the lives of others who interact with us. When people in our own life do things that we don’t expect, we feel like the director and want them to go back to the script we have written for them instead.

Synecdoche is a peculiar movie about what happens when life doesn’t follow the script that we have laid out for us, or for others.

