Today I get something done about a faulty USB stick that was purchased a few weeks ago, and find a useful program to check the health of them too.

[Ed: Yesterdays notes accidentally became published – my apologies for that. Here’s the full piece.]

Faulty USB sticks

No more than two weeks ago I bought a usb stick from Warehouse Stationary, but it has refused to be reliable. Commonly when copying files to it, the stick will stop working, and on ejecting and putting it back in it tells me it needs to be formatted, yet again.

Check Flash

Eventually when its demand to be formatted is met with a persistent failure to format, I find a nice utility called Check Flash that helps to check the health of a disk, and mine wasn’t healthy at all. I didn’t have the receipt for a refund of it either, so I feel little moral compunction in purchasing an identical one, and taking back the two-week-old non-working pen drive for a refund.

Best of all though, I didn’t even need to bring up Check Flash with them. Something like that would only confuse them, so to make it easiest for them to do the right thing, it was just a situation of the usb stick wanting and failing to be formatted. They checked it on their computer and found the same problem, and I chose to upgrade to a better usb stick that cost twice as much.

Checking a replacement

Having learned my lesson though I take a seat in Eastgate, and use the laptop this time to check the drive. Check Flash reports that there are problems with this disk too. I’m starting to get suspicious at this point, because both my desktop and laptop (and the companies own computer) have experienced the problem so it can’t be those.

Could it be Check Flash causing the problem? I hope not. Over to the Warehouse I go to get one of their cheapest USB sticks, and Check Flash reports that everything is perfectly fine with that one. Phew – the upgraded one is genuinely faulty.

Refund time

Back I go to Warehouse Stationary with their expensive USB stick (which fails to format), because this is a genuine case of a faulty product and organise for a refund. It is quite an investment of time in doing these checks and dealing with customer service, and anger levels are tempted to rise due to wasting so much time trying to get a working USB stick, but none of that would help the situation.

Keep your receipts and check your product – it sounds easy but can be challenging at times. What I want is very simple – to have a working device that meets my rather simple requirements, which are that it works.

I still have 3 usb sticks though, and the Warehouse one is too thick to fit in the computer when other things are already plugged in there, so I guess I know what I’ll be doing tomorrow. 🙂

