A Shabby Chic meetup takes place, and efforts to resolve a Spinrite issue is met with stalemate.

Shabby Chic

antique toaster with folding sidesThe meetup.com group met today at the Shabby Chic market day, which I have since found out is held once a month. The meetup group had trouble finding each other there though, for the meetup.com website was suffering under another DDOS attack, but some of us eventually found each other.

I  was keeping an eye out for things like a toaster with fold-out sides for a friend, but to no avail this time. There was though quite the amazing range of antique equipment and gear there though, from children’s books to clothing to tchotchkes of all variety.

Spinrite update required

The afternoon was spent at the community centre with their computer stripped down, as I made one last attempt to resolve issues with Spinrite on my hard drives. When I was in touch with support at grc.com, they gave plenty of advice about things that I can try. What they had to say for me has been copy/pasted from someone else’s email, from some time ago.

The progress that I’m having in regard to their assistance is as follows:

  • The boot disk has no beneficial impact on the issue I’m having with the division overflow error.
  • Changing the BIOS settings between Legacy IDE, ACPI, and RAID for the drives doesn’t result in any improvement.
  • Relocating the drives to a completely different computer system hasn’t helped with the issue.
  • The BIOS firmware updates haven’t improved things either.
  • Using software from the drive manufacturer might be beneficial if my drive was experiencing a a repair-based problem, but since I’m just wanting to perform a maintenance scan, software from the drive manufacturer hasn’t improved my situation.

As a result of all these checks though, it’s helped me to confirm that the Spinrite program is the fundamental cause of the problem. A follow-up email from them has helped to clarify that even though the ATA specifications support drives up to 48-bits, that Spinrite currently only works up to 32-bits for the drives, so accessing some tracks on recent larger drives such as 1 Gig drives most commonly results in problems.

An update to Spinrite 6.1 is being worked on which will fix such problems, but a timetable for its release is not known at this stage. What is known is that Steve is currently working on finishing off SQRL (Secure Quick Reliable Login), after which efforts towards Spinrite 6.1 can then occur.

I’ll be looking forward to such developments.

